Become a Nevada Notary

Abbreviation: NV | 36th State | Statehood: October 31, 1864 |
To become a Nevada notary public, a person must meet all of the requirements listed below:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a citizen of the United States or lawfully admitted for permanent residency in the United States
  • Be a resident of Nevada or a non-resident of a bordering state who is employed or maintains a business in Nevada
  • Not have been convicted of a felony, and who does not possess his/her civil rights
  • Never had a notary commission revoked in another state
The process for obtaining a Nevada Certificate of Appointment as a Notary Public is as follows:

  • Meet the eligibility requirements.
  • Complete a 3-hour approved notary course and pass a mandatory notary examination.
  • File a $10,000 bond and execute an oath with the county clerk of the county in which the applicant resides.
  • After the filing of the bond and oath with the county clerk, the county clerk will issue a Filing Notice.
  • Once the preceding requirements have been completed, the applicant must submit an application form to the Secretary of State with a filing fee of $35, together with the Filing Notice and the notary course certificate.
  • The Secretary of State may require the applicant to submit a complete set of his or her fingerprints and a written permission authorizing the Secretary of State to submit those forms to state or federal authorities. The applicant is responsible for fees associated with processing the fingerprints.
  • Upon approval by the Secretary of State, a Certificate of Appointment as a Notary Public will be issued.
  • To download the application forms, visit
Non-Resident Nevada Notaries:
Permitted. A non-resident working in Nevada and living in a bordering state (Utah, California, Oregon, Idaho, or Arizona) may apply for a one-year term. Non-resident applicants must complete and submit the “Non-resident Notary Public Affidavit” with their initial application. The employer must complete the “Affidavit of Applicant’s Employer.” In addition, the non-resident applicant must provide a copy of the Nevada State Business license from the company in which he or she is employed.
Nevada Notary Bond:
Required. A bond in the amount of $10,000 is required for new, renewing, and electronic notaries.
Notary Errors & Omissions Insurance:
Optional. A notary public is liable to any person for damages that result from his or her official misconduct. The American Association of Notaries strongly recommends that Nevada notaries public insure themselves against claims of negligence through the purchase of Notary Errors and Omissions insurance.
Filing Fee:
A filing fee of $35 is required for new and renewal notary applications. A $50 filing fee is required for electronic notaries.
Nevada Notary Term:
Four years for new and renewing notaries. The initial term of an electronic notary public is two years, and any subsequent term of appointment is four years.
Nevada Secretary of State
Notary Division
101 North Carson Street, Suite 3
Carson City, Nevada 89710-3714
(775) 684-5708
Certificate of Appointment Renewal:
A notary public may apply before the expiration of his or her appointment by completing a renewal notary application form. A notary public renewing his or her notary commission must complete a 3-hour notary course.
Required. All new applicants are required to complete a 3-hour notary course and pass a mandatory notary exam approved by the Secretary of State. A notary public renewing his or her notary commission must retake the notary course.
Nevada Notary Stamp/Notary Seal:

Type – rubber-inked stamp or other mechanical stamp

Ink color – any color as long as the seal can be reproduced under photographic methods

Shape – rectangular

Dimensions – not larger than 1 inch by 2 ˝ inches.

Required elements - the name of the notary public, the appointment expiration date, the number of the certificate of appointment of the notary public, and the words “Notary Public, State of Nevada." If the notary public so desires, the Great Seal of the State of Nevada may be added. In the case of a non-resident notary public, the notary seal must also include the word “Nonresident.” The seal may contain a border design, and must produce a legible imprint. The notary seal must be in a secured location during any period in which the notary public is not using the stamp to perform a notarial act. A notary public shall not affix his or her stamp over printed material. A “mechanical stamp” includes an imprint made by a computer or other similar technology.

Note: If a stamp of a notary public is lost, destroyed, broken, damaged, or otherwise rendered inoperable, the notary public must notify the Secretary of State within 10 days, submit a fee of $10, and request an amended certificate of appointment. The notary public will then obtain a new stamp.

Record Book:
Required. Nevada notaries public must record every notarial act in a notary journal. The notary journal must be a bound volume with preprinted page numbers. A notary public is mandated by state law to keep his or her notary journal for seven years after the date on which the notary public ceases to be a notary public. The notary public must maintain his or her journal and stamp in a locked, secure location solely within his or her control. A notary public must file a report with the Secretary of State and the appropriate law enforcement agency if his or her notary journal is lost or stolen. For Nevada notary supplies, please contact the American Association of Notaries by calling (800) 721-2663 or by visiting our website at
Notary Fees:
Notary fees are set by state law. A notary public is allowed to charge for each notarial act, but not more than:

  • Taking an acknowledgment (for the first signature of each signer) - $5.00
  • For each additional signature - $2.50
  • Administering an oath or affirmation - $5.00
  • Administering an oath or affirmation (without a signature) - $2.50
  • Jurat, for each signature on the affidavit - $5.00
  • Certified copy - $2.50
  • Performing a marriage ceremony - $75

Travel fees may be charged if the client agrees in advance upon an hourly rate. The maximum hourly rate that may be charged is $10 per hour from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. and $25 per hour from 7 p.m. to 6 a.m.

Note: If a notary public charges fees for performing notarial acts, the notary public must post a table of fees in some conspicuous place in his or her office, and the print must not be smaller than ˝ inch type. Without such a posting, a notary public may not charge a fee for the performance of a notarial act.

Nevada notaries public have the authority to:

  • Take acknowledgments
  • Administer oaths or affirmations
  • Execute jurats
  • Protests instruments
  • Certify a copy
  • Perform such other duties as may be prescribed by a specific statute
  • Perform marriages after obtaining a certificate of permission from a county clerk to perform marriages
Electronic Notarization:
Permitted. Effective July 1, 2009, the State of Nevada enacted the Electronic Notary Public Authorization Act, NRS 240.181 through 240.206. To qualify for an appointment as an Electronic Notary Public, the applicant must have been a Nevada notary public at least 4 years prior to applying. To apply for Electronic Notary Public, please contact the Nevada Secretary of State for further information and/or instructions.
Address Change:
Required. A notary public must notify the Secretary of State within 30 days on a prescribed form of any changes in his or her mailing address, county of residence, or signature. Additionally, if the notary public is a resident of an adjoining state and changes his or her place of business or employment, the non-resident notary public must submit to the Secretary of State a request for an amended certificate of appointment on a form provided by the Secretary of State. There is a $10 fee to file this form. Failure to notify the Secretary of State of a change within the 30-day period may result in the suspension of the notary’s certificate of appointment by the Secretary of State. To download the Amendment of Notary Public Appointment/Information form visit:
Name Change:
Optional. If you intend to continue using the same name on file with the Secretary of State, you do not have to submit a name change form. To use a new name when performing notarial acts, you must send an amended certificate of appointment form along with a $10.00 fee to the Secretary of State within 30 days of your name change. The surety company that issued the bond must also be notified of the name change. A new seal must be purchased with the new name, and the old seal must be destroyed. To download the Amendment of Notary Public Appointment/Information form, go to:
If a notary public resigns or dies during his or her appointment, the notary or the executor of the estate of the notary must notify the Secretary of State. The notary seal should then be destroyed. After any of these events, the notary journals must be kept for seven years.
Prohibited Acts:
A notary public may not:

  • Influence a person to enter or not enter into a lawful transaction
  • Use the term “notario,” “notario publico,” “licenciado,” or any other equivalent non-English term to advertise his or her notary services
  • Certify an instrument containing a statement known to the notary to be false
  • Perform a notarial act with intent to deceive or defraud
  • Alter a notary journal with the intent to deceive or defraud
  • Endorse or promote any product using his or her title as a notary
  • Allow any other person to use his or her notary seal
  • Allow any person to sign his or her name in a notarial capacity
  • Perform a notarial act on a document that contains only a signature
  • Notarize a document in which the notary public has a direct beneficial interest
  • Notarize a document for a person who has not provided reasonable proof of identity
  • Notarize a document without a notarial certificate
  • Notarize a document that contains blank spaces
  • Notarize a document if the notary public is named in the document
  • Notarize for a relative by marriage or consanguinity
  • Notarize a document without the signer being in the notary’s presence at the time of the execution of the notarization
  • Notarize his or her own signature
  • Sign a notarial certificate under any other name than the one under which he or she was commissioned
  • Certify photocopies of documents recordable in the public records
  • Perform a marriage ceremony, unless in possession of a valid certification to perform marriages
  • Overcharge for performing a marriage ceremony
Criminal Offense:
A Nevada notary public who commits official misconduct may be subject to civil and criminal liability, including the suspension or revocation of his or her certificate of appointment and/or the payment of administrative penalties.
Notarial Certificates:
Click here to view your state's notarial certificates.

Revised: August 2015

0 Products $0.00
View Cart | Checkout