To become a Delaware notary public, a person must meet all of the requirements listed below:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be of good character and reputation
- Have a reasonable need for a notary commission
- Be a legal resident with a street address in Delaware or maintain an office or regular place of employment within the State of Delaware
- Never have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving dishonesty or moral turpitude
In order to receive a Delaware notary public commission, a person must:
- Meet the eligibility requirements
- Submit his or her notary application or renewal using the Secretary of State’s online system (first time filing fee - $60) at
- Execute an oath of office, and provide the Secretary of State with a copy of such oath.
- Have an email address and create a notary profile to use the Secretary of State’s online system
- Applicants will receive further instructions and information by email throughout the application process
Non-Resident Delaware Notary:
Permitted. Non-residents must maintain a regular place of employment in the State of Delaware, and must meet the same qualifications as a Delaware resident.
Delaware Notary Bond:
Notary Errors & Omissions Insurance:
Optional. A notary public is liable to any person for damages that result from his or her official misconduct. The American Association of Notaries strongly recommends that Delaware notaries public insure themselves against claims of negligence through the purchase of Notary Errors and Omissions insurance.
A $60 filing fee is required for new applications; a $60 fee is required for renewals for a two-year term and $90 for a four-year term.
Delaware Notary Term:
Two years for a first time commission; two or four years for subsequent terms.
Secretary of State, Notary Division,
401 Federal Street, Suite 4,
Dover, DE 19901,
302-739-4111 and press 3
Notary Commission Renewal:
After the notary’s initial two-year term expires, the notary may apply within 30 days before the commission expires by completing a renewal application form.
None Required. Electronic notaries are required to show that they have taken a course of instruction (whether in the classroom, through distance learning, or online) on how to perform electronic notarial acts in accordance with the standards and guidelines established by the Secretary of State.
Delaware Notary Stamp/Notary Seal:
Type – embosser or black-inked rubber stamp
Required elements - notary’s name and the words “My Commission expires on (date),” “Notary Public,” and “State of Delaware.” A notary must contact the Secretary of State within 10 days if his or her notary seal is stolen, lost, or used by another person. Notaries must also notify their local law enforcement.
Shape/Dimensions - not specified by notary laws
None Required. It is strongly recommended by the Secretary of State and the American Association of Notaries that Delaware notaries public record every notarial act in a notary journal. For Delaware notary supplies, contact the American Association of Notaries by calling 800.721.2663 or visiting our website at www.usnotaries.com
. Electronic notarial acts must be recorded in an electronic journal.
Notary fees are set by state law. A notary public is allowed to charge for each notarial act, but not more than:
- Acknowledgments - $5.00
- Oaths or affirmations - $5.00
- Jurats - $5.00
- Witnessing or attesting a signature - $5.00
- Protests - $5.00
- Certifying or attesting a copy of nonrecordable documents - $5.00
- Electronic notarial acts - $10, not to exceed a total of $25
Note: No notary may charge notary fees to any persons serving in the armed forces of the United States, to a veteran of any war, or to the widow, children, parents, or other relatives of any person in the armed services when notarizing documents in connection with veteran affairs.
A Delaware notary has the authority to:
- Take an acknowledgment
- Administer an oath or affirmation
- Take a verification upon oath or affirmation
- Protest instruments
- Witness or attest a signature
- Certify or attest a copy of a non-recordable document
Permitted.The Delaware Code, Title 29, Chapter 43-Notaries Public allows electronic notarizations. The Governor and the Secretary of State are not issuing electronic notary commissions. However, a notary public must submit a registration form to become an Electronic Notary Public and show that he or she has taken a course of instructions.
Required. Notaries must notify the Secretary of State within 30 days on its online system of a change of address, and the notification must include the notary’s name, old address, and new address. Non-resident notaries must also go on their profile with the Secretary of State using the online system to change their place of residence or employment.
Optional. If a notary’s name changes during the commission term, the notary public has two options: 1) continue to sign under the commissioned name AND the new name; or 2) apply for a new commission. There is no charge for this service.
A notary public may not:
- Prepare, draft, select, or give advice concerning legal documents
- Perform acts that constitute the practice of law
- Overcharge for notary services
- Notarize a document without the signer being present
- Notarize his or her own signature
- Notarize a document if he or she has a financial or beneficial interest in the transaction
- Notarize a document that does not contain a notarial certificate
- Notarize a document that contains blanks
- Sign a notarial certificate under any other name than what is on the notary public commission
- Certify copies of documents recordable in the public records
Notaries public who commit official misconduct may be subject to criminal liability, which may include the revocation of their notary public commissions. If any person shall knowingly or willfully make any false or fraudulent statement or misrepresentation in or with reference to any application for a notary commission or any other document pursuant to notary laws, such person shall be guilty of perjury.
to view your state's notarial certificates.