To become a Missouri notary public, a person must meet all of the requirements listed below:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Be a registered voter in the county for which the applicant is to be commissioned, or a resident alien of the United States
- A non-resident must be employed in Missouri and have an employee address in the county for which he or she is commissioned
- Have a residence address in the county where the applicant is commissioned
- Be able to read and write the English language
- Not have had a commission revoked during the past 10 years
- Never have been convicted of felony
Obtaining a Missouri notary public commission requires completion of the following steps:
- Prior to submitting an application, each applicant or renewing notary must read the Missouri Notary Public Handbook and complete a computer-based training or other notary training course.
- All applicants must meet the eligibility requirements.
- Next, applicants must properly complete and submit a notary application form to the Secretary of State with a $25 filing fee and a copy of a certificate of completion of a written course. Click here to download the application form -
- After the application is approved, the notary commission will be mailed to the appropriate office in the county where the notary resides (or is employed for non-resident notaries). The notary must appear in person before the county clerk to record his or her $10,000 bond, take the oath of office, and submit a handwritten specimen of his or her official signature. Failure to do so within 90 days will result in cancellation the notary commission.
Non-Resident Missouri Notary:
Permitted. Non-residents must be employed in Missouri and use the notary seal in the course of their employment only. Non-residents must also meet the eligibility requirements of Missouri residents. Non-residents must have an employee address in the county from which they are commissioned. In addition, they must authorize the Secretary of State as their agent and representative to accept service of any process. These applicants must submit non-resident notary applications. Click here to download the application form:
Missouri Notary Bond:
Required. A bond in the amount of $10,000 is required for new and renewing applicants. Please visit the American Association of Notaries website at www.missourinotary.com
to purchase and receive a bond via email in one business day, or call 800.721.2663.
Notary Errors & Omissions Insurance:
Optional. A notary public is liable to any person for damages that result from his or her official misconduct. The American Association of Notaries strongly recommends that Missouri notaries public insure themselves against claims of negligence through the purchase of Notary Errors and Omissions insurance. To purchase this insurance policy, please visit our website at www.missourinotary.com
A $25 filing fee is required for new and renewal notary applications.
Missouri Notary Term:
Notary Commission Renewal:
Notaries may apply 30 days before the expiration of their current commission by completing a renewal application form.
Required. Each new applicant and renewing notary must read the Missouri Notary Public Handbook
and complete a computer-based notary training course or other notary training program prescribed by the Secretary of State. Missouri notaries are encouraged by AAN to learn the notarial duties by completing a live or an online notary course. For complete details go to www.missourinotary.com
Missouri Notary Stamp/Notary Seal:
Type – embosser or rubber stamp
Ink color – black
Required elements - notary’s commission name, commission number, and the phrases “Notary Public,” “State of Missouri,” and “Notary Seal.” County name and commission expiration dates are optional. Every executed notarial certificate must also include the commission county and expiration date, which can be added to the notary seal. The print must not be smaller than eight-point type and must be photographically reproducible.
Note: If the notary’s official seal is stolen, destroyed, misplaced, damaged, or otherwise rendered inoperable, the notary must provide a written notice to the Secretary of State immediately. The Secretary of State will issue a new commission number for the notary to order a new notary seal. Notice of the lost, stolen, or misplaced notary seal will be posted on the Secretary of State’s website notifying the general public that such notary seal is invalid and is not an acceptable notary commission number.
Required. Notaries are required to keep a permanently bound journal of their notarial acts. Each notary public shall keep a permanently bound journal of his or her notarial acts containing numbered pages, except those notarial acts connected with judicial proceedings and those for whose public record is publicly filed within ninety days of execution. If the notary journal is lost, misplaced or stolen, the notary is required to send a written notice to the Secretary of State immediately. For Missouri notary supplies, please contact the American Association of Notaries by calling (800) 721-2663 or visiting our website at www.missourinotary.com
Notary fees are set by state law. A notary public is allowed to charge for each notarial act, but not more than:
- $2 for each signature notarized
- $2 for a certified copy
- $25 for an expedited convenience fee when traveling to perform a notarial act
- Travel fees may not exceed approved federal mileage rates, and notaries may charge an expedited convenience fee not to exceed $25 when traveling to perform a notarial act
A Missouri notary has the authority to:
- Take acknowledgments
- Administer oaths and affirmations
- Certify a copy of a document
- Perform any other act permitted by law
The Secretary of State has not adopted rules and/or procedures for electronic notarizations. However, the State of Missouri has enacted the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act, Missouri Revised Statutes, Chapter 432, Sections 432.200 through 432.295. See Section 432.250, which authorizes a notary’s electronic signature. If a signature or record is required to be notarized, the requirement is satisfied if the electronic signature of the notary public, together with all other information required to be included, is attached to or logically associated with the signature or record.SB 932 requires the Secretary of State to promulgate rules to implement the provisions of Section 486.275 regarding the electronic signature of a notary public.
Required. If notaries change their county of residence, they are required to apply for an amended commission for their new county of residence within 30 days of the county change. The Secretary of State will require of such notaries a change of county amendment form, a $5 filing fee, and their current commission. If a notary move outside his county, he must be a registered voter in the new county before submitting the Change of County form. If non-resident notaries change employers, they must also notify the Secretary of State within 30 days on a prescribed form. Click here to download the Change of Address form or the Change of County form: http://www.sos.mo.gov/business/commissions/
Required. If a notary’s legal name changes, the notary must notify the Secretary of State within 30 days of such name change. Notice must be on a prescribed form, and it must include a $5 fee, the current commission, notary’s seal, the rider from the bonding company indicating the name change, and an official signature. Click here to download the Name Change form http://www.sos.mo.gov/business/commissions/
Required. If a notary public wishes to resign his/her notary commission, the notary must submit a letter of resignation along with his/her commission certificate and notary seal to the Office of Secretary of State. If a complaint is received prior to notice of resignation, future applications for appointment may be denied. If any notary receives notice from the Secretary of State that his/her commission has been revoked, the notary must mail or deliver his/her commission to the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State may post notice on their website notifying the general public that the notary is no longer a commissioned notary public.
A notary public who knowingly and willfully commits any official misconduct is guilty of a misdemeanor and is punishable upon conviction by a fine not exceeding five hundred dollars or by imprisonment for not more than six months or both. A notary public who recklessly or negligently commits any official misconduct is guilty of a misdemeanor and is punishable upon conviction by a fine not exceeding one hundred dollars. Any person who acts as, or otherwise willfully impersonates a notary public when such act results in a fraudulent act involving property is guilty of a Class E felony.
to view your state's notarial certificates.