Become a Connecticut Notary

Abbreviation: CT   |   5th State   |   Statehood: January 9, 1788 |
To become a Connecticut notary public, a person must meet all of the requirements listed below:

  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Be a resident of Connecticut or have a principal place of business in the state
  • Pass, with a 100% score, a written examination approved or administered by the Secretary of State
  • Receive the recommendation of an individual who has personally known the applicant for at least one year and is not legally related to the applicant
  • Not have been convicted of a felony or crime involving dishonesty or moral turpitude
  • Not have had a notary commission or professional license revoked, suspended, or restricted by this state or any other state
  • Not have engaged in any form of official misconduct
In order to receive a Connecticut notary public commission, a person must:

  • Meet the eligibility requirements
  • Properly complete and submit the notary application form approved by the Secretary of State with a filing fee of $120 and pass the written examination with a 100% score. Click here to download the notary application form -
  • Within 30 dys after receiving the Certificate of Appointment, notaries public must record the certificate and oath of office with the town clerk in the town where the notary resides or has a principal place of business.
Non-Resident Connecticut Notary:
Permitted. Nonresidents must have a principal place of business in Connecticut.
Connecticut Notary Bond:
None required. A notary public is liable to any person for damages that result from official misconduct. Notaries are encouraged to purchase a notary bond to insure themselves against claims of negligence.
Notary Errors & Omissions Insurance:
Optional. A notary public is liable to any person for damages that result from official misconduct. The American Association of Notaries strongly recommends that Connecticut notaries public insure themselves against claims of negligence through the purchase of a Notary Errors and Omissions insurance.
Filing Fee:
A $120 state filing fee is required for new notary applications, and a $60 fee is required for renewal notary applications. There are no application fees for certain state police officers applying for a notary commission.
Connecticut Notary Term:
Five years.
Secretary of State
Records of Legislative Services Division
Notary Public Area
PO Box 150470
Hartford, CT 06115-0470
A notary may apply 90 days before the expiration of the current commission by completing a renewal application form.
Required. Must pass, with a 100% score, a written examination approved and administered by the Secretary of State.
Connecticut Notary Stamp/Notary Seal:
None Required. A notary public may keep and use an official notarial seal. If a notary public utilizes a notary seal (embosser or inked stamp), the seal should contain the notary’s commission name, the words “Notary Public, Connecticut, and My commission expires (commission expiration date).”

Note: If the notary does not utilize a notary seal or stamp, the words “Notary Public” and “My commission expires (commission expiration date)” must be typed or printed legibly by the notary near the notary’s official signature on a notarial certificate. If a notary seal or stamp is lost or stolen, the notary should notify both the local police and the Secretary of State. A notary must immediately destroy the notary seal upon resigning as a notary or upon revocation, lapse, or expiration of appointment as a notary public.

Record Book:
None Required. It is strongly recommended by the Secretary of State and the American Association of Notaries that Connecticut notaries public record every notarial act in a notary journal. For Connecticut notary supplies, please contact the American Association of Notaries by calling 800.721.2663 or visiting our website at
Notary Fees:
Notary fees are set by state law. A notary public is allowed to charge for each notarial act, but not more than:

  • Acknowledgments - $5.00
  • Oaths or affirmations - $5.00
  • Jurats - $5.00
  • Depositions - $5.00
  • $0.35 per mile traveled
A Connecticut notary has the authority to:

  • Take acknowledgments
  • Administer oaths or affirmations
  • Perform jurats
  • Take depositions
  • Issue subpoenas for the appearance of witnesses
  • Execute copy certifications
Electronic Notarization:
The Secretary of State has not enacted/adopted statutes, rules, and/or procedures for electronic notarizations.
Address Change:
Required. A notary public who is a Connecticut resident who changes his or her residence address must provide the Secretary of State with written notice of such a change within 30 days. Nonresident notaries public must report a change of their principal place of business address in Connecticut, as well as any changes in their residence address, on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State along with a filing fee of $15. Click here to download the change of address form:
Name Change:
Required. If a notary who is a Connecticut resident changes his name, the notary is required to report that change to the Secretary of State within 30 days on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State along with a filing fee of $5. The notice shall state the notary’s old and new names and the effective date of the new name and include proof of the change of name as the Secretary of State shall require. After the issuance of a replacement certificate of appointment and within 30 days, the notary must record the certificate with the town clerk of the municipality wherein the notary recorded the original certificate of appointment and oath of office or with the town clerk of the notary’s new town. Click here to download the name change form:
If the notary ceases to either be a resident of the State of Connecticut or to have a principal place of business in the state, or resigns such an appointment, a written notice must be sent to the Secretary of State immediately, and it must include an effective date of resignation. Immediately upon death of a notary public, the notary’s representative must destroy the notary seal, if any, and file a signed written notice with the Secretary of State indicating the date of death.
Prohibited Acts:
A notary public may not:

  • Prepare, draft, select, or give advice concerning legal documents
  • Unreasonably refuse to perform notarial acts in lawful transactions for any person who tenders payment
  • Use the phrase “notario publico”
  • Notarize with intent to deceive or defraud
  • Use the notary’s title or seal in an endorsement or promotional statement for any product, service, contest, or other offering
  • Notarize a document without the signer being in the notary’s presence
  • Notarize a document wherein he or she is a signatory of the document
  • Sign a notarial certificate under any other name than the one under which the notary was commissioned
  • Use a signature stamp to notarize
  • Allow another individual to sign on his behalf as a notary public
  • Notarize his own signature
  • Act as a translator and notary public at the same time in connection with the same document
  • Notarize a document if he or she has a financial or beneficial interest in it
  • Prepare “certified” or “true” copies of any documents
Criminal Offense:
None mentioned in the notary laws. However, a notary can face criminal liability for falsely certifying to administrating an oath or for making a false statement.
Notarial Certificates:
Click here to view your state's notarial certificates.

Revised: July 2015

0 Products $0.00
View Cart | Checkout