Compared to other states, Arkansas has few eligibility requirements to become a notary. Any Arkansas resident 18 years of age or older with no felony convictions is eligible to apply to become an Arkansas notary public. The information listed below will guide you step by step to become an Arkansas notary.
To become an Arkansas notary, a notary applicant must:
1. Be 18 years of age or older.
2. Be a legal resident of the state of Arkansas or a resident of a bordering state who is employed in the state of Arkansas.
3. Be a U.S. citizen or a permanent resident.
4. Be able to read, write, and understand the English language.
5. Have no felony convictions.
6. Not have had a notary public commission revoked in the last ten years.
7. Reviewed the laws on notaries public and understood the duties of a notary public.
If you meet the above qualifications you can apply to become a notary by:
1. Purchasing a ten-year, $7,500 Arkansas notary bond.
2. Creating an account on the State's Notary Management System to complete the online exam and notary application.
3. Mailing the completed application, copy of your Arkansas notary bond, and notary application fee to the Arkansas Secretary of State.
4. Signing the notary commission certificates that you receive from the state at your county clerk's office.
5. Mailing one of the completed certificates to the Arkansas Secretary of State.
6. Receiving your notary public identification card from the Arkansas Secretary of State so you can start performing notarial acts.
How can I start the Arkansas notary application process to become an Arkansas notary?
To become a Arkansas notary, please follow the instructions listed in the previous section on becoming an Arkansas notary. Click here for more information on how to become an Arkansas notary and read our Arkansas law section. More information can be found at the Arkansas Secretary of State's website.
How do I renew my Arkansas notary commission?
Renewing your Arkansas notary commission requires you to take the same steps as a new applicant. When purchasing the $7,500 Arkansas notary bond, you must include the dates for your new commission. After logging in to your account on the State's Notary Management System, you'll select Notary Public Renewal for a renewal application. Your current commission number will have to be entered on your application.
When can I renew my Arkansas notary commission?
You can only renew your Arkansas notary commission sixty days before your commission expiration date. The Secretary of State will reject all notary applications submitted earlier than the sixty days.
How much does it cost to become an Arkansas notary?
To become an Arkansas notary, you must purchase a ten-year, $7,500 Arkansas notary bond. The cost of the bond is only $50.00. You can purchase an Arkansas notary bond at the American Association of Notaries' website: https://www.arkansasnotary.com/how-to-become-an-arkansas-notary/. To become an Arkansas notary, you must also pay a $20.00 notary application fee when submitting the application to the Secretary of State's Office. You also need an Arkansas notary stamp or an embosser (prices will vary from vendor to vendor).
How long does it take to become an Arkansas notary public?
If your application is completed correctly it usually takes about two to four weeks for the Arkansas Secretary of State to approve the application and issue you the Arkansas notary commission certificates. From this point the time it takes for you to officially be considered an Arkansas notary depends on when you take your certificates to your recorder of deeds, when you return one of the certificates to the Arkansas Secretary of State, and when you receive your notary public identification card.
How long is an Arkansas notary commission?
An Arkansas notary terms is for ten years. To verify when your term begins and ends, you'll have to take a look at the effective and expiration dates of your Arkansas notary public identification card you received from the State when you became a notary. To continue performing notarial acts as an Arkansas notary after your current expiration date, you'll have to renew your commission before your notary term expires. Please visit our website https://www.arkansasnotary.com/commission.asp to renew your commission.
Where do I purchase the ten-year, $7,500 Arkansas notary bond?
The Arkansas notary bond can be purchased online at https://www.arkansasnotary.com/how-to-become-an-arkansas-notary/. The cost for the ten-year, $7,500 Arkansas notary bond is $50.00. Once you place your order on our website, we will email you the bond within one business day with instruction on how to complete the application process.
Why do I need an Arkansas notary bond?
The State of Arkansas requires the $7,500 Arkansas notary bond to protect the public from any errors and omissions the notary may have committed.
Does the Arkansas notary bond protect me if I get sued?
No. An Arkansas errors and omissions policy (E&O) will help protect the notary in the case of any unintentional errors or omissions.
Do I need to purchase an Arkansas Notary Errors and Omissions Policy (E&O)?
The Arkansas notary errors and omissions insurance policy is optional but highly recommended. It is very affordable and covers you even if a claim is invalid. We offer E&O policies at https://www.arkansasnotary.com/eo.asp.
Do I need to purchase an Arkansas notary stamp? What notary supplies do I need?
After becoming an Arkansas notary, in order to perform notarial acts in the state of Arkansas, you need to buy an Arkansas notary stamp or Arkansas notary seal embosser. A notary record book, sometimes called a journal, is recommended by the Arkansas Secretary of State but is not required. An Arkansas notary stamp and embosser must meet the following requirements:
1. Be a rubber stamp or a metal embosser.
2. Make an impression that is clear, legible, and capable of photographic reproduction.
3. Use blue or black ink.
4. Include the notary's name as written in his or her official signature.
5. Include the name of the county where the notary filed his or her bond.
6. Include the words "notary public" and "Arkansas".
7. Include the notary's commission expiration date.
8. Include the notary's commission number.
How do I order an Arkansas notary stamp and record book?
Please go to https://www.arkansasnotary.com/stamps.asp to order your Arkansas notary supplies. All our Arkansas notary stamps and Arkansas notary supplies come with a life-time replacement guarantee, are made in house, and are shipped in one business day.
Do I need send you my Arkansas notary commission certificate?
To prepare your Arkansas notary supplies, we'll need you to forward us a copy of your Arkansas commission certificate.
How can I train to become an Arkansas Notary?
The State has a Notary Public Handbook on its website that includes valuable information on performing notarial acts. You can download the handbook at https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-services-bcs/notary-e-notary.
Click here to learn more about how to become an Arkansas notary.