Here's our step-by-step guide on becoming a Michigan notary.
To become a Michigan notary, a notary applicant must:
1. Be 18 years of age or older.
2. Be a resident or maintain a place of business in the state of Michigan.
3. Be a U.S. citizen or possess proof of legal presence.
4. Be a resident or maintain a place of business in the county in which he or she will apply.
5. Be able to read and write in English.
6. Not have had any felony convictions in the past ten years.
7. Not have been convicted of three or more misdemeanor offenses involving a violation of the Michigan Notary Public Act within a five-year period.
8. Not currently be serving a term of imprisonment in any state, county, or federal correctional facility or in the past ten years for a felony or misdemeanor offense in any state.
If you meet the above qualifications, you can apply to become a Michigan notary by:
1. Reading and learning the notarial laws in the Notary Public Act (2003 PA 238).
2. Printing a notary application from the Michigan Secretary of State's website.
3. Entering your personal information on the notary application.
4. Purchasing a $10,000 surety bond.
5. Visiting your county clerk's office to pay the $10.00 filing fee and file your $10,000 surety bond.
6. Having the county clerk administer the oath of office and affix the county seal to the notary application.
7. Mailing the notary application and $10.00 filing fee to the Michigan Department of State Office of the Great Seal.
8. Waiting for your Michigan notary public commission card in the mail.
How can I start the Michigan notary application process to become a Michigan notary?
To become a Michigan notary, please follow the instructions listed in the previous section. Click here for more information on how to become a Michigan notary, and read our Michigan law section. More information can be found at the Michigan Secretary of State's website.
How do I renew my Michigan notary commission?
Renewing your Michigan notary commission requires you to take the same steps as applying for a Michigan notary commission for the first time. A new application should be started before the notary commission's expiration date to ensure uninterrupted authority.
When can I renew my Michigan notary commission?
You can renew your Michigan notary commission up to sixty days before your commission expiration date.
How much does it cost to become a Michigan Notary?
To become a Michigan notary, you must purchase a $10,000 surety bond. According to the Michigan Department of State Office of the Great Seal, surety bond prices usually range from $50 to $100. The county clerk will then require you to pay a $10.00 filing fee to file your surety bond. The notary application will need to include a $10.00 filing fee before the Michigan Department of State Office of the Great Seal will process the application and issue you the Michigan Notary Public Commission Card. The use of a Michigan notary stamp is not required in the state of Michigan, but having one available will make notarizing documents more efficient (prices vary depending on the notary stamp unit you select). Please visit our website for Michigan notary stamps and Michigan notary supplies.
How long does it take to become a Michigan Notary Public?
The time it takes to read and learn the notarial laws in the Notary Public Act (2003 PA 238) and take the notary application and surety bond to the county clerk's office varies from applicant to applicant. At this point, you can submit the notary application and filing fee to the Michigan Department of State Office of the Great Seal. Michigan notary public commission cards are usually received by the applicant in about 14 business days from the day the notary application and filing fee are received.
How long does a Michigan notary commission last?
A Michigan notary term cannot be less than six years and not more than seven years. The length of the term depends on the applicant's birthday and when he or she applies. Current Michigan notaries public can verify when their terms begin and end by looking at the effective and expiration dates on the Michigan notary public commission cards they were issued when their notary applications were approved. To continue performing notarial acts as a Michigan notary after your current expiration date, you'll have to renew your commission before your notary term expires. Please click here to renew your commission.
Do I need to purchase a Michigan notary stamp? What notary supplies do I need when I become a Michigan notary?
A notary record book, sometimes called a journal, is not required. If you choose to keep a record book, you are required to maintain all records of a notarial act for at least five years. The State of Michigan doesn't require a Michigan notary to use a Michigan notary stamp and Michigan notary embosser. Please note the Michigan Department of State Office of the Great Seal indicates that notarized documents sent out of state may require an embossed notary seal. You will find having a Michigan notary stamp more efficient since it can include some of the information you will be required to print, type, stamp, or imprint mechanically or electronically when you notarize a document.
How do I order a Michigan notary stamp and record book?
Please visit our Michigan notary page to order your Michigan notary supplies. All our notary stamps and notary supplies come with a life-time replacement guarantee, are made in house, and are shipped in one business day.
How can I train to become a Michigan notary?
The Michigan Secretary of State's website has notary public information and rules for you to read. Their website will also include the Notary Public Act (2003 PA 238), which you will need to learn to become a Michigan notary public.
Click here to learn more about how to become a Michigan notary.